UTSA, Graduate School Aug. 2016

Jose L. Lopez-Ribot Professor and Margaret Batts Tobin Distinguished Chair Dept. Biology, UTSA

1. Degrees

Ph.D. Microbiology, University of Valencia, Spain, 1991
Pharm.D. Pharmacy, University of Valencia, Spain, 1991
B.S. Pharmacy, University of Valencia, Spain, 1988

2. Service at UTSA

Years of Service: 11 years

Original appointment: Associate Professor, Department of Biology (2005-2008).

Current appointment: Professor (2008) and Margaret Batts Tobin Distinguished Chair (2015); Associate Director, South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases; Program Director (2016), UTSA's SCORE Program (2016)

3. Other Related Experience

a. At The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Texas.

Adjunct Associate Professor, Dept. of Microbiology and Immunology (2008-2016), Associate Professor, Dept. Medicine, Div. Infectious Diseases (2003-2005), Assistant Professor, Dept. Medicine, Div. Infectious Diseases, (1997-2003), Research Fellow (1996-1997).

b. At Texas tech University health Science Center, Lubbock, Texas.

Research Associate, Dept. of Microbiology & Immunology (1996-1997), Postdoctoral Research Associate. Dept. of Microbiology & Immunology (1992-1996)

c. At other institutes

Res. Asst, Dept. of Microbiology, School of Pharmacy, Univ. Valencia, Spain (1988-1991)

4. Consulting, Patent, etc.:

2 US Patents US7632502 and US8962531 B2

5. State(s) in which registered: (N/A)

6. Principle Publications of Last 5 Years (from 170+ total)

- 1. Srinivasan, A., P. Uppuluri, J.L. Lopez-Ribot and A.K. Ramasubramanian. 2011. Development of a High-Throughput *Candida albicans* Biofilm Chip PloS One. 6(4):e19036.
- 2. Srinivasan, A., K.P. Leung, J.L. Lopez-Ribot, and A.K. Ramasubramanian. 2013. High-throughput nano-biofilm microarray for antifungal drug discovery. mBio. 4: e00331-13.
- 3. Pierce, C.G., A.K. Chaturvedi, A.L. Lazzel, S.P. Saville, S.F. Mchardy and J.L. Lopez-Ribot. 2015. A novel small molecule inhibitor of *Candida albicans* biofilm formation, filamentation and virulence with low potential for the development of resistance. Nature pj Biofilms and Microbiomes. 1: 15012; doi:10.1038/npjbiofilms.2015.12.
- 4. Lara, H.H., D. G. Romero-Urbina, C.G. Pierce, J. L. Lopez-Ribot, M. J. Arellano-Jiménez, and M. José-Yacamán. Effect of Silver Nanoparticles on *Candida albicans* Biofilms: an Ultrastructural Study. Journal of Nanobiotechnology. *In press*.
- 5. Montes, M., C. G. Pierce, J.L. Lopez-Ribot, A. S. Bhalla and R. Guo. 2016. Properties of Silver and Copper Nanoparticle Containing Aqueous Suspensions and Evaluation of their in vitro Activity against *Candida albicans* and *Staphylococcus aureus* Biofilms. J. Nano Research. *37 pp 109-121*
- 6. Actis L., A. Srinivasan A, J.L. López-Ribot, A.K.Ramasubramanian, and J.L. Ong. 2015. Effect of silver nanoparticle geometry on methicillin susceptible and resistant *Staphylococcus aureus*, and osteoblast viability. J Mater Sci Mater Med. 26:215.

UTSA, Graduate School Aug. 2016

7. Romero-Urbina, D.G., H.H. Lara, J. J. Velazquez-Salazar, M. J. Arellano-Jimenez, Eduardo Larios, A. Srinivasan, J.L. Lopez-Ribot and M. Jose-Yacaman. Ultrastructural changes in methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus induced by positively charged silver nanoparticles. Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology. *In press*.

- 8. Pierce, C.G., S.P. Saville, and J.L. Lopez-Ribot. 2014. High content phenotypic screenings to identify inhibitors of *Candida albicans* biofilm formation and filamentation. Pathogens and Disease. 70:42.
- 9. Siles, S., A. Srinivasan, C.G. Pierce, J.L. Lopez-Ribot, and A.K. Ramasubramanian. 2013. High-throughput screening of a collection of known pharmacologically active small compounds for the identification of *Candida albicans* biofilm inhibitors. Antimicrob. Agents Chemother. 57:3681-7.

7. Scientific and Professional Societies

American Society for Microbiology (ASM), Medical Mycological Society of the Americas (MMSA), Asociacion Espanola de Micologia (AEM), European Confederation of Medical Mycology (ECMM), European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (ESCMID), Texas Faculty Association (TFA), American Association of University Professors (AAUP).

8. Honors and Awards

- Cum laude in Doctoral Thesis. School of Pharmacy, Univ. of Valencia, 1991
- Special Recognition Award for Doctorate, Univ. of Valencia, 1993
- NIH FIRST Award, 1997
- Burroughs Wellcome Fund New Investigator in Molecular Pathogenic Mycology, 2001
- President's Distinguished Achievement Award in Research (tenured faculty), UTSA, 2011
- Medical Mycological Society of the Americas Presidential Service Award, 2014
- Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology, 2016

9. Institutional and Professional Services in the Last Five Years

a. Institutional:

- Chair, Institutional Biosafety Committee (2005-present);
- Member, Laboratory Safety Committee (2009-present)
- Chair, University Faculty Review Advisory Committee (2015)
- Member, Master in Biotechnology committee (2014-2016)
- Member, Academic Curriculum Committee, Dept. Biology, UTSA (2011-2012)
- Associate Director, South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases
- Program Director, UTSA's SCORE program (2016-present)
- Various faculty review, search, promotion and tenure committees at departmental level.
- Multiple Thesis Dissertation committees

b. Professional:

- Editorial Board, Infection and Immunity, Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Microbial Drug Resistance, Current Immunology Reviews.
- Associate Editor for North America, Revista Iberoamericana de Micologia.
- Associate Editor, Mycopathologia (2008-2012), Frontiers in Microbiology/Fungi and their Interactions (2010-2016).
- Guest editor, mBio.
- Ad-hoc reviewer for over 90 journals.
- Member, NIH's College of CSR Reviewers
- Ad-hoc reviewer for over 20 different NIH study sections.